Work Sisters

“A friend is one that knows you as you are, understands where you have been, accepts what you have become, and still, gently, allows you to grow.” William Shakespeare

We have friends in all walks of our lives: school friends, gym friends, work friends, and people who become friends for any reason.

I have two friends that I have worked with for 16 years. I call them my work sisters. We work with others in an open office where there are no cubicles or walls. We have learned to respect each other’s “space” and, consequently, hear the others’ lives as played out on the phone.

We have become close not only because each became intrinsic to our jobs but also,  as a result of being in close confines, we have been in each other’s pockets relating to life issues.

Over the past 16 years, one’s husband died, one got married, our three mothers died, two became grandmothers, our kids had accidents, school-related issues and medical issues. But through it all, we stuck together and served as each other’s support systems.

One of we three is leaving this week. She was told her job was being eliminated. After 26 years, she was asked to leave.

My heart is heavy as I consider that we will still be friends, but not in such close confines. I am sad for the situation and for the atmosphere this has caused. I know that she won’t be there to be my sounding board or answer my questions at work.

In casting about for a positive, I am happy that she still has so much to give as she starts   a new chapter in her life. Another organization will be very lucky to have her and her passion for doing such a good job.

Life won’t stop because change is inevitable. Change can bring about things you never consider. Still, sometimes you like to be the change, not the other way around.

Good luck, my friend, and I hope your life continues to deliver the good things that you so deserve as you nurture a new garden of work sisters.

About the happiness plan

There is comfort and a knowing of place in the always-have-been. I can do change though; just don't thrust it at me. I am trying to be better at thinking outside the box and some days it actually works. My advice? Don't plan on accidental happinesses. Go out there and find them yourself. You are the solution.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment